The Component Parts of the Roman Breviary


The Roman Breviary is printed in four volumes, as the whole would make a rather bulky and inconvenient book.  There used to be a one-volume version of the Breviary called the Totum, but this is rarely seen these days.  When printed in four volumes, the various books are designated as the Pars HiemalisPars VernaPars Aestiva, and Pars Autumnalis  (Winter, Spring, Summer and Autumn volumes).


Each volume of the Breviary contains essentially the following parts: the Ordinary, the Psalter, the Proper of the Season, the Proper of the Saints, and the Common of the Saints.